Instructions to Reinstate your License
Step 1: Complete Background Check
Completion time varies from 1 to 8 weeks, depending on circumstances. Criminal history rap sheet findings will extend the completion time. Note that inadequate fingerprints and incorrect payment amount (either too much or too little) will result in delays with the Louisiana State Police.
Option 1: Mail forms, payment, and fingerprint cards to the LSP Headquarters in Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Recommended for applicants who are not able to be physically present at the LSP Headquarters. Completion time for this option is approximately 6-8 weeks.
For more information, click the “Instructions” link below and read Option A.
Option 2: Present in-person to the LSP Headquarters in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.
Recommended for applicants who are able to be physically present at the LSP Headquarters. Completion time for this option is approximately 2-3 weeks.
For more information, click the “Instructions” link below and read Option B.
Option 3: Complete a Background Check Affidavit. This option requires completion of Option 1 above.
Recommended for applicants who are not able to be physically present at the LSP Headquarters in Baton Rouge, but are in need of a license sooner than 8 weeks. Completion time for this option is approximately 2-3 weeks.
For more information, click the “Instructions” link below and read Option C.
Step 2: Set up a User Account and Pass the Jurisprudence Exam
- From an Internet Browser, go to www.laptboard.org
- Located at the top of the Home page, select “LOGIN”
- Click on “No account? Sign up!”
- Select "I am a Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant” and type in the required information.
• Remember to write down the password that you create.
• Be advised that the information you use to create your account must match exactly what we have in our database. If any of your information has changed or if you are unable to set up your account, contact the board office for assistance.
- Click “Create Account”
- Log in using your email address and password that you used to create your account. It will take you to your Dashboard
- Pass the Jurisprudence Exam - All applicants must make a 75% or higher to pass the Board's online jurisprudence. The exam is free of charge and consists of 20 questions from the Louisiana Practice Act and Rules.
• To take the exam online, click the link at the top of your Dashboard, and then click on “Jurisprudence Exam”
Step 3: Complete the Paper Application
- Click here to obtain the application.
- Complete the application by typing in the fields.
- Print the entire application and sign each page.
- Have the complete application notarized.
All information must be sent to the Board office at 104 Fairlane Drive, Lafayette, LA 70507.
- Your complete, original, signed and notarized application
- Diploma (copy) - If you can not locate your diploma, you may request from your graduating school that they send the Board your transcript. The transcript must not be a copy and must be mailed directly from the school to the Board.
- Passport-Sized Photo - Submit one (1) recent passport size photograph (taken within six (6) months of the application date) to be used for identification purposes. Staple the photo to the application where indicated or email a .jpg to Licensing@Laptboard.org identifying yourself.
- Payment in the form of a domestic cashier's check or money order made payable to Louisiana Physical Therapy Board. (see Fee Schedule for payment amount)
- Proper form of identification to prove identity and authorization to work in the United States, if applicable. You may submit a copy of your Driver's License (front and back) and Social Security Card. You may substitute a copy of your passport for your Driver's License. If you are not a citizen of the United States, submit proper documentation evidencing the fact that you have obtained legal authority to work in the United States.
Step 5: Letters of Recommendation
Two letters of character recommendation as stated in §187.E.6.
Step 6: Continuing Education Compliance
Provide proof in the form of course completed certificates of Continuing Education compliance from all jurisdictions in which the applicant has held an active license in the previous 24 months along with a personal statement explaining the requirements of each jurisdiction.
Step 7: Verification of licensure from all states in which you currently hold a license/permit OR have ever been licensed
If you have ever been licensed, certified or registered (including temporary permits) to practice in the profession for which you are now making application, a written verification of licensure is required. You must provide verification for each jurisdiction in which you were granted a permit or license. Contact the licensing board where you are requesting verification for their instructions. Written verification of licensure must be forwarded directly from the licensing board to the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board.
Louisiana Physical Therapy Board
104 Fairlane Drive
Lafayette, LA 70507
§187. G. Any person whose license has lapsed for more than five years may apply for reinstatement of licensure upon payment of the renewal fee and the reinstatement fee under the following conditions:
- licensee shall be subject to a three month period of supervised clinical practice;
- licensee may only practice under the on-premises supervision of a board approved PT who has practiced no less than three years with a Louisiana license in good standing;
- completion of the General Practice Review Tool offered by the FSBPT and satisfactory completion of continuing education courses indicated by that tool to bring the Applicant’s knowledge to current standards.
- a supervision agreement must be approved by the executive director before a provisional license will be issued. The supervision agreement shall be in force for the entire three month supervisory period. This licensee may only practice in those facilities and under the supervision of the PT named in the approved supervision agreement. Any change in practice site or supervisor must be submitted in a revised supervision agreement prior to the change taking place. At the end of the supervisory period, the Supervising PT of Record shall report to the board the satisfactory or unsatisfactory completion of the supervision period. If an unsatisfactory supervision period is reported by the Supervising PT of Record, the board, in its discretion, may require an additional three month supervisory period; and
- completion of remedial courses which may be prescribed by the board.
The application fee must be submitted in the form of a domestic cashier's check or a money order and made payable to the
Louisiana Physical Therapy Board. A personal check is not acceptable and your application will be returned.
§501.A. the board may collect the following fees...
THIS FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE
REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FEE – ONE Year License $75
- $75 Reinstatement Fee
- Even Birth Year & Odd Application Year
- Odd Birth Year & Even Application Year
REINSTATEMENT APPLICATION FEE – TWO Year License $215
- $75 Reinstatement Fee + $140 Renewal Fee
- Even Birth Year & Even Application Year
- Odd Birth Year & Odd Application Year