Louisiana Physical Therapy Board

Renewal Information for 2022

Instructions:

Read all information below in its entirety before proceeding with your renewal.

 

Live Coursework is waived for 2022 renewals 

To comply with state and federal recommendations in response to COVID-19, the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board is allowing online courses to substitute for live courses during the 2022 renewal period. Biennial requirements in Rule 194 (LAC 46: LIV 194) still applies, with the exception that online coursework may substitute the live coursework requirement.

Rule 194: Biennial Requirements

The four types of approved courses or activities and requirement for each are: 

(1)   jurisprudence: a minimum of 2 contact hours; 

(2)   ethics or professionalism: a minimum of 2 contact hours;  

(3)   clinical/preventive: a minimum of 18 contact hours, up to 6 of which may be earned by completion of a board approved self-assessment tool 

(4)   administrative: a maximum of 8 contact hours may be applied during each renewal period. Additional clinical/preventive hours may be substituted for administrative. 


IMPORTANT DATES

February 1, 2022
Renewal Period Begins for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.
Log in to your account and click “Renew”.

March 31, 2022
Last day of the renewal season for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.

April 1, 2022
Late renewal period begins.
Licensees who renew in the month of April will be charged a late fee of an additional $120.

April 30, 2022
License expiration date for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.
Renewal applications received after April 30th shall be deemed as applications for license reinstatement pursuant to Rule §187.
Licensees who practice with an expired license are subject to disciplinary action.


FEE SCHEDULE

RENEWAL OF LICENSE, per year  $140

  • Renewal Period opens February 1st and closes March 31st.
  • Licensees who renew in April are charged a late fee (see below for more details).
  • The term for license renewal shall be for two years.

LATE RENEWAL OF LICENSE  $120

  • Late fee is paid in addition to the renewal fee.
  • Licenses may be renewed until April 30th but are charged a penalty if renewed in the month of April.  

Licenses not renewed shall automatically expire at the end of its term, after which the licensee shall not practice in Louisiana. 


EXEMPTIONS FOR NEW GRADUATES AND RECENTLY ISSUED LICENSES

***** See the following Additional Exemptions and follow all instructions in order to renew your license**** 


 2021 GRADUATE

PTs and PTAs are exempt from CE requirements in the calendar year in which they graduate from an accredited physical therapy education program. If you graduated in 2021 and renew your license in 2021, you do NOT need to report ANY CEU’s for renewal(Rule §198)   

You are still required to renew online.  The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application.

Follow these steps to add the required 30 hours to your Current Course list.
 
 1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the Course Title, "New Graduate 2021"
  5.  Enter the month and year of your graduation for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit”

Follow these steps to add the required 2 hours of Ethics Requirement  to your Current Course list.
 
 1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the Course Title, "New Graduate 2021" Renewing in 2021 – Ethics Course 
  5.  Enter the month and year of your graduation for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit” 


 2020 GRADUATE

PTs and PTAs are exempt from CE requirements in the calendar year in which they graduate from an accredited physical therapy education program. For the second year of the licensee’s renewal period, 15 contact hours must be completed and reported. If you graduated in 2020, and renew your license in 2021, you only need 15 hours of CEUs.  (Rule §198)  

Course Category & Type Guidelines (15 hrs)
 
›  2 hours of Jurisprudence 
         (Online Exam or Live Seminar)
  ›  2 hours of Ethics or Professionalism
  ›  11 hours of Clinical/Preventative (Clinical hours can be LIVE and/or ONLINE)
         (max 4 Administrative hrs can be substituted for Clinical)
  ›  All hours may be Online

The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application. 

Follow these steps to add the required 15 hours to your Current Course list.
 
 1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the Course Title, "New Graduate 2020"
  5.  Enter the month and year of your graduation for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit” 


2021 Issued RECIPROCITY or REINSTATEMENT Licenses


If you received your license through RECIPROCITY or REINSTATEMENT in 2021 and received a one-year license, you are only required to report 15 hours of CEUs.  

Course Category & Type Guidelines (15 hrs)
 
›  2 hours of Jurisprudence 
         (Online Exam or Live Seminar)
  ›  2 hours of Ethics or Professionalism
  ›  11 hours of Clinical/Preventative (Clinical hours can be LIVE and/or ONLINE)
         (max 4 Administrative hrs can be substituted for Clinical)
  ›  All hours may be Online

The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application. 
Follow these steps to add the required 15 hours to your Current Course list.
 
 1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the correct Course Title, depending on your license type
       ›  "Licensed through Reciprocity in 2021 (Renewing 2022)"
       ›  "Licensed through Reinstatement in 2021 (Renewing 2022)"
  5.  Enter the month and year that you were licensed for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit”

IMPORTANT REMINDER:

Please be advised if you were licensed through reciprocity or reinstatement in 2021 and are due to renew your license in 2022, you cannot submit courses on your renewal application that were used on your application for reinstatement or reciprocity

 


FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

 

  • When can I begin taking CEUs for my 2024 renewal?
    Licensees who renewed in February 2022 and March 2022 may use coursework taken April 1, 2022 - March 31, 2024 for the 2024 renewal. Licensees who renewed in April 2022 may use coursework taken beginning the day after they renew their license through March 31, 2024 for the 2024 renewal. Licensees may not use any courses used to renew in 2022 for the 2024 renewal.

 

  • How can I verify that my license was successfully renewed?
    You may verify that the expiration date on your license is 04/30/2024 on the Verify a License tool on our homepage here: www.laptboard.org

 

  • My question wasn’t answered here in this FAQ. How do I get in touch with the Board office during this time?
    Until further notice, the Board office staff are working remotely. However, they are all available via email and ready to answer any questions you may have. To get in touch, please visit our contact page here.

  • I've completed the MDS survey and I have my passcode but I'm having trouble continuing with my renewal. What should I do?
    -Depending on how long it took to complete the MDS survey, the application may have timed out. Log out of your dashboard and log back in again. Try entering your passcode again.
    -If you are accessing your renewal from mobile device (phone or tablet) then you will not be able to complete the application. For best results, access your renewal on a PC laptop or desktop computer.
    -Use web browsers like Google Chrome or Firefox. Avoid Internet Explorer.