Louisiana Physical Therapy Board

2018 Renewal Information

IMPORTANT DATES

February 1, 2018
Renewal Period Begins for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.
Login to your account and click “Renew”.

March 31, 2018
Last day of the renewal season for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.

April 1, 2018
Late renewal period begins.
Renewal applications received will be charged a late fee of an additional $120.

April 30, 2018
License expiration date for EVEN-YEAR birth year licensees.
Renewal applications received after April 30th shall be deemed as applications for license reinstatement pursuant to Rule §187.
Licensees who practice with an expired license are subject to disciplinary action.


FEE SCHEDULE

RENEWAL OF LICENSE, per year  $140

  • Renewal Period opens February 1st and closes March 31st.
  • Licensees who renew in April are charged a late fee (see below for more details).
  • The term for license renewal shall be for two years.

LATE RENEWAL OF LICENSE  $120

  • Late fee is paid in addition to the renewal fee.
  • Licenses may be renewed until April 30th but are charged a penalty if renewed in the month of April.  

CEU REQUIREMENTS (Rule §194)

For ALL Licensees

  • Licensees may report courses completed between April 1, 2016 and March 31, 2018.
  • ALL courses must be BOARD-APPROVED.


For Licensees NOT Exempt Under Rule §198

You need 30 HOURS of continuing education to renew your 2 YEAR license. Below is a breakdown of the required course categories and course types.

COURSE CATEGORIES - what a course will teach

  • Administrative - addresses billing or management issues; includes self-help courses such as dealing with stress, anger, etc.
    • NOT mandatory; maximum of 8 hours
  • Clinical - teaches about a diagnosis, treatment techniques or evaluation methods
    • MANDATORY; at least 18 hours (hours can be either live and/or online)
  • Ethics - covers issues of ethics or professionalism
    • MANDATORY; 2 hours
  • Jurisprudence - attend a live seminar hosted by the Louisiana Physical Therapy Board or pass the online Jurisprudence Exam
    • MANDATORY; 2 hours (taking the online exam does NOT count as online hours)

COURSE TYPES - how a course is offered

  • Online/Home Study - not instructed in live time; may be through a DVD, website or selected readings
    • NOT mandatory; maximum 15 hours(in combination with webinar/live stream)
  • Traditional/Onsite - a lecture and/or lab based course in which the instructor is physically present
    • MANDATORY; minimum 15 hours
  • Webinar/Live Stream - given in real time by an instructor who is not physically present; usually given via website, closed circuit TV, or phone-in method
    • NOT mandatory; maximum 15 hours (in combination with online/home study)

OTHER options to earn CEs (Rule §195)

 

For Licensees EXEMPT Under Rule §198

2017 GRADUATE
PTs and PTAs are exempt from CE requirements in the calendar year in which they graduate from an accredited physical therapy education program. If you graduated in 2017 and renew your license in 2018, you do NOT need to report ANY CEU’s for renewal. (Rule §198) Please be advised that you are still required to renew online.   

The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application.
Follow these steps to add the required 30 hours to your Current Course list.
 
1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the Course Title, "New Graduate 2017"
  5.  Enter the month and year of your graduation for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit”


2016 GRADUATE

PTs and PTAs are exempt from CE requirements in the calendar year in which they graduate from an accredited physical therapy education program. For the second year of the licensee’s renewal period, 15 contact hours must be completed and reported. If you graduated in 2016, and renew your license in 2018, you only need 15 hours of CEUs(Rule §198)  

Course Category & Type Guidelines (15 hrs)
 
›  2 hours of Jurisprudence
         (Online Exam or Live Seminar)
  ›  2 hours of Ethics or Professionalism
  ›  11 hours of Clinical/Preventative (Clinical hours can be LIVE and/or ONLINE)
         (max 4 Administrative hrs can be substituted for Clinical)
  ›  All hours may be Online

The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application.
Follow these steps to add the required 30 hours to your Current Course list.
 
1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the Course Title, "New Graduate 2016"
  5.  Enter the month and year of your graduation for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit”


RECIPROCITY or REINSTATEMENT
If you received your license through RECIPROCITY or REINSTATEMENT in 2017 and received a one-year license, you are only required to report 15 hours of CEUs.  

Course Category & Type Guidelines (15 hrs)
 
›  2 hours of Jurisprudence
         (Online Exam or Live Seminar)
  ›  2 hours of Ethics or Professionalism
  ›  11 hours of Clinical/Preventative (Clinical hours can be LIVE and/or ONLINE)
         (max 4 Administrative hrs can be substituted for Clinical)
  ›  All hours may be Online

The system requires a total of 30 Hours for Current Courses to proceed with the online renewal application.
Follow these steps to add the required 30 hours to your Current Course list.
 
1.  Login or create an online account
  2.  From your Dashboard, select the “Add a Course” button
  3.  Select the Sponsor, "Louisiana Physical Therapy Board"
  4.  Select the correct Course Title, depending on your license type
       ›  "Licensed through Reciprocity in 2017 (Renewing 2018)"
       ›  "Licensed through Reinstatement in 2017 (Renewing 2018)"
  5.  Enter the month and year that you were licensed for “Award Month/Year”
  6.  Select “Submit”

 

Don’t qualify for one of the CE exemptions listed above?

Licensees who need to file for a CE exemption, but do not qualify for the standard exemptions listed above, should refer to Rule §198, Exemptions from Continuing Education Requirements, for guidance.

If you are unable to fulfill the continuing education requirements for the biennial reporting period due to personal hardship, natural disaster, illness, or military service, you may submit a request for Continuing Education Exemption.

Be advised that exemption requests must be received at least 45 days prior to the end of the renewal period for which the exemption is sought.

Click here for more information.


ONLINE RESOURCES

 

Top of Page